madduck's git repository

Every one of the projects in this repository is available at the canonical URL git://git.madduck.net/madduck/pub/<projectpath> — see each project's metadata for the exact URL.

All patches and comments are welcome. Please squash your changes to logical commits before using git-format-patch and git-send-email to patches@git.madduck.net. If you'd read over the Git project's submission guidelines and adhered to them, I'd be especially grateful.

SSH access, as well as push access can be individually arranged.

If you use my repositories frequently, consider adding the following snippet to ~/.gitconfig and using the third clone URL listed for each project:

[url "git://git.madduck.net/madduck/"]
  insteadOf = madduck:

helpers: powerset and trivial_partition_set
authorSimon Désaulniers <sim.desaulniers@gmail.com>
Wed, 14 Feb 2018 22:00:36 +0000 (17:00 -0500)
committerSimon Désaulniers <sim.desaulniers@gmail.com>
Fri, 16 Feb 2018 20:26:41 +0000 (15:26 -0500)
- the powerset is the set of all combinations of a given set;
- the trivial partition set is the simplest partition of a set. For e.g., the
  trivial partition set of {a, b, c}, is simply {{a}, {b}, {c}}.

helpers.lua

index ab87f769fe5836004c920ad73e63a7c5de706641..ce655761405b9a972b58cda4e0e8552052b1daee 100644 (file)
@@ -170,6 +170,29 @@ function helpers.spairs(t)
     end
 end
 
+-- create trivial partition of a set. The trivial partition set is the simplest
+-- partition of a set. For e.g., the trivial partition set of {a, b, c}, is
+-- simply {{a}, {b}, {c}}.
+function helpers.trivial_partition_set(set)
+    local ss = {}
+    for _,e in pairs(set) do
+        ss[#ss+1] = {e}
+    end
+    return ss
+end
+
+-- creates the powerset of a given set
+function helpers.powerset(s)
+    if not s then return {} end
+    local t = {{}}
+    for i = 1, #s do
+        for j = 1, #t do
+            t[#t+1] = {s[i],unpack(t[j])}
+        end
+    end
+    return t
+end
+
 -- }}}
 
 return helpers